Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Four local graduates receive Burt Scholarship

Thu, Jul 11th 2024 12:00 pm

Four recent area graduates received awards this year from the Burt Scholarship Fund, managed by the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation.

Ciara Ledford of Allegany-Limestone, Dominik Wagoner of Hinsdale, Lydia Hammer of Olean and Zoey Hoak of Portville each received the Burt Scholarship for $1,250.

Established by the Burt Committee of the First Presbyterian Church of Olean in memory of Dr. Rudy Burt, the scholarship is given each year to one student each from Olean High School and Portville, Allegany-Limestone and Hinsdale Central Schools.

Ledford will attend Case Western Reserve University to study nutrition. Wagoner will study engineering at SUNY Fredonia.

Hammer plans to study English and journalism at Rochester Institute of Technology. Hoak plans to study diagnostic medical sonography at Alfred State College.

The Burt Scholarship Fund has supported over $83,000 in scholarship awards to area students since it was established at CRCF in 2004.

Donations can be made to the Burt Scholarship at CRCF, 301 North Union St., Suite 203 or online at cattfoundation.org.

Established in 1994, CRCF is growing good by connecting donors to the causes they care about most in the region. Grants from the Foundation support many areas, including education, scholarships, health care, the arts, community development, human service, and youth development. To learn more, call (716) 301-CRCF (2723), email  [email protected], or visit online at www.cattfoundation.org. CRCF is also on Facebook (facebook.com/cattfoundation) and Twitter (@CattFoundation).