Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Six local students receive memorial scholarships

Tue, Jul 9th 2024 10:00 am

Six local students have recently received memorial scholarships administered by the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation.

Emilie Edick of Portville, Grace Haynes of Olean and Olivia Graham of Allegany-Limestone received the Carroll Swanson Memorial Scholarship for the Performing Arts for $200 each.

The Carroll Swanson Memorial Scholarship Fund for the Performing Arts, established at the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation through a bequest from Ms. Swanson’s estate, continues Swanson’s love for supporting music students by providing scholarship for students at Allegany-Limestone, Olean and Portville who have participated in a school music program.

Edick will attend Utica University to study animal behavior. Haynes will attend Houghton University. Graham will attend Jamestown Community College to study nursing.

Michael Frederick of Allegany-Limestone received the Dennis Jones and Wayne Johnston Memorial Dice Run Scholarship.

The $500 scholarship is for a graduating senior from either Olean High School or Allegany-Limestone Central School who will be attending a 4-year college, with preference for a student planning to study business or a business-related field (i.e. accounting, finance, marketing, economics etc.)

Frederick will study business administration at Washington and Jefferson College.

Addison Thornton of Allegany-Limestone received the Don and Bern Holcomb Memorial Scholarship for $500.

This scholarship, established in memory of Don and Bern Holcomb, is for high school students from any school in Cattaraugus County or Allegany County who plans to attend an accredited post-secondary institution with a preference for a student majoring in an agricultural or conservation-related field or a female pursuing an engineering degree.

Thornton will study environmental studies at SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry.

Sophie Bartman of Olean received the Jack & Muriel Fogarty Memorial Scholarship for $500.

Established as part of the Olean City School District Scholarship Fund and the DJH Foundation, the Fogarty scholarship is for a senior graduating from Olean High School with a GPA of 80 or above, accepted to a four-year college. The student must demonstrate the ability to balance academics with extracurricular activities and work.

Bartman will study exercise science at SUNY Brockport.

Donations can be made to any of these funds at CRCF, 301 North Union St., Suite 203 or online at cattfoundation.org.

The Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation is the area’s supportive, responsive and trusted community foundation. Established in 1994, CRCF is growing good by connecting donors to the causes they care about most in the region. Grants from the foundation support many areas, including education, scholarships, health care, the arts, community development, human service, and youth development. To learn more, call (716) 301-CRCF (2723), email [email protected], or visit online at www.cattfoundation.org. CRCF is also on Facebook (facebook.com/cattfoundation) and Twitter (@CattFoundation).