Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Portville, Olean students receive CRCF scholarships

Thu, Jun 27th 2024 11:00 am

Six local students recently received scholarships administered by the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation.

Alexander Linderman and Tyler Camp received the Signe, Svenborg, Agnes and Selma Johnson Scholarship for $1,150 each.

Established through the trust of Signe H. Johnson, a former Portville and Olean high school teacher, this scholarship is given to Olean High School seniors with preference given to students who have strong educational/career goals or who plan to pursue a degree in teaching. The scholarship is named for Signe Johnson and her sisters, Svenborg, Agnes and Selma, all of whom were Olean High School teachers.

Linderman will study geology at SUNY Oswego. Camp plans to study economics at Bowling Green State University.

Madeline Thornton received the Signe H. Johnson Scholarship for $1,100.

The scholarship, established by the trust of Signe H. Johnson, is for a Portville Central School senior with preference for a student pursuing a degree in teaching or who has strong educational/career goals.

Thornton will begin studying psychology at St. Bonaventure University.

Grace Ring received the Dr. Brian O’Connell Sr. Memorial Scholarship for $500.

This scholarship, established in memory of Dr. Brian O’Connell who worked for 37 years in the Olean City School District before retiring as the principal of Ivers J. Norton Elementary School, is for graduating high school seniors or graduates of Olean High School who will be attending or are currently enrolled in college and plan to pursue a degree in an education-related academic major.

Ring plans to study education at SUNY Geneseo.

Seth Vos received the Eva M. Taggerty Memorial Scholarship for $500.

Established in memory of Eva Taggerty by her daughter, Beth Taggerty, the Eva M. Taggerty Memorial Scholarship provides an annual scholarship for graduating seniors of Portville Central School who plan to seek a two- or four-year degree in a construction industry-related career/technical field. Preference is given to female students, students who have attended BOCES or students who are planning to attend Alfred State College.

Vos is attending Alfred State College to study engineering.

Draven Cummings of Olean received the William D. and Catherine Griffin Fraser Scholarship for $1,700.

This scholarship is for a graduate of Olean High School or Cuba-Rushford High School pursuing a degree in the medical or education field.

The late William D. Fraser, a long-time teacher and guidance counselor at Olean High School, initially established the scholarship in memory of his late wife, Catherine Griffin Fraser, who worked at St. Francis Hospital for 26 years. His name was added to the scholarship after his passing in 2019.

Cummings will attend Jamestown Community College to study nursing.

Donations can be made to any of these funds at CRCF, 301 North Union St., Suite 203 or online at cattfoundation.org

The Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation is the area’s supportive, responsive and trusted community foundation. Established in 1994, CRCF is growing good by connecting donors to the causes they care about most in the region. Grants from the foundation support many areas, including education, scholarships, health care, the arts, community development, human service, and youth development. To learn more, call (716) 301-CRCF (2723), email [email protected], or visit online at www.cattfoundation.org. CRCF is also on Facebook (facebook.com/cattfoundation) and Twitter (@CattFoundation).