Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Area graduates receive memorial CRCF Scholarships

Wed, Jun 12th 2024 12:00 pm

Five area graduates recently received awards from scholarship funds established in memory of past area residents and managed by the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation.

Addison Thornton, Ciara Ledford and Katherine Crawford – all from Allegany-Limestone Central School – received the Nicolas G. Pendl Memorial Scholarship. Crawford received $2,500 while Thornton and Ledford each received $1,500.

The scholarship is for a graduating senior from Allegany-Limestone Central School in good academic standing who intends to pursue a 2- or 4-year degree in environmental science or other science-related field. The scholarship, in memory of Nicolas G. Pendl, a 2013 Allegany-Limestone Central School graduate, was established by Peter, Mary and Bethany Pendl; the Pendl and Potter families; the Allegany Engine Company; and friends of Nicolas.

Thornton will attend the SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry to major in environmental studies. Ledford will attend Case Western Reserve University to study nutrition. Crawford will attend Mount Holyoke College to major in biochemistry.

Michael Frederick received the Fred G. Grace Scholarship for $1,000.

Established in memory of Mr. Grace, a long-time Allegany Central School administrator, the scholarship is for a senior from Allegany-Limestone Central School who will be majoring in business, education or a sports-related field. The recipient must also have lettered in a varsity sport. Walter and Michele Nye, Mr. Grace’s son-in-law and daughter, established the endowment at the Community Foundation. Mr. Grace dedicated more than 50 years to the Allegany Central School system, serving as a teacher, coach, principal and member of the board of education.

Frederick will study business administration at Washington and Jefferson College.

Gianna Loiacono of Cuba-Rushford received the Bernadette E. “Bernie” Taylor Memorial Scholarship for $500.

The Taylor scholarship is for a graduating student of any high school in Cattaraugus or Allegany counties, with first preference for a student who plans to major in education, particularly in math or science fields; nursing; or a health-care field. Second preference is for a high school student graduating from any high school in Cattaraugus or Allegany counties who will be attending St. Bonaventure University and entering the ROTC program. Students graduating from Allegany-Limestone Central School also will be given preference.

The Taylor family established this scholarship in memory of Bernie, who taught chemistry at Bradford Area High School, then Allegany High School and Allegany-Limestone Central School for over 30 years.

Loiacono will attend St. Bonaventure University to study childhood education.

Donations can be made to any of these funds at CRCF, 301 North Union St., Suite 203, Olean, NY 14760 or online at cattfoundation.org.

Established in 1994, CRCF is growing good by connecting donors to the causes they care about most in the region. Grants from the Foundation support many areas, including education, scholarships, health care, the arts, community development, human service, and youth development. To learn more, call (716) 301-CRCF (2723), email  [email protected], or visit online at www.cattfoundation.org. CRCF is also on Facebook (facebook.com/cattfoundation) and Twitter (@CattFoundation).