Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

11 Portville graduates receive CRCF scholarships

Tue, Jul 26th 2022 11:00 am

Eleven recent Portville Central School graduates received awards from scholarship funds managed by the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation.

Established by Portville College Scholarships, the Portville College Scholarships Fund supports annual scholarship awards for graduating Portville students who volunteer at the school store or annual Portville College Scholarship phonathon fundraiser.

Awards from the fund this year total $2,800.

The following students received awards this year:

  • Thomas Carls - $200
  • Harley Hathaway - $250
  • Samuel Korsa - $500
  • Courtney Lyle - $200
  • Megan Pagett - $500
  • Mia Welty - $200
  • Mallory Welty - $200
  • Caydence Zalwsky - $750

Carls will study mechanical engineering at the Rochester Institute of Technology. Hathaway will attend the University of Northwestern Ohio where she plans to study high performance motorsports and automotive technology. Korsa will study architecture at Alfred State College. Lyle will attend Saint Francis University to study health science.

Pagett plans to study media arts production at Ohio University. Mallory and Mia Welty both will study business administration at Elmira College. Zalwsky will attend SUNY Canton where she will study forensic criminology.

Lyle and classmate Kendall Artlip also received the Dr. Donald A. Wormer Family Scholarship, each receiving $2,125.

This endowed scholarship, established in memory of Dr. Wormer by his late wife, Elinor Wormer, is awarded to graduating seniors of Portville Central School attending a two- or four-year institution to pursue a degree in a health care-related field. Students are also eligible to re-apply and recent graduates may also apply for this scholarship.

Artlip plans to study radiology and sonography at Alfred State College.

Allie DeFazio received the Signe H. Johnson Scholarship for $1,100.

The scholarship, established by the trust of Signe H. Johnson, is for a Portville Central School senior with preference for a student pursuing a degree in teaching or who has strong educational/career goals. Ms. Johnson taught for many years at Portville Central School and Olean High School.

DeFazio plans to study early childhood education at St. Bonaventure University.

Additionally, Rachel Waddell received the inaugural OHS Class of 1983 Scholarship for $500.

This scholarship was created by the Olean High School Class of 1983 in memory of all of the deceased members of the class. The scholarship shall be awarded with first preference to a graduating high school senior who is a relative of a member of the Olean High School Class of 1983.

Waddell will study chemical engineering at the Rochester Institute of Technology.

Donations can be made to any of these funds at CRCF, 301 North Union St., Suite 203 in Olean, or online at cattfoundation.org

Established in 1994, the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation is growing good by connecting donors to the causes they care about most in the region. Grants from the foundation support many areas, including education, scholarships, health care, the arts, community development, human service, and youth development. To learn more, call (716) 301-CRCF (2723), email [email protected], or visit online at www.cattfoundation.org. CRCF is also on Facebook (facebook.com/cattfoundation) and Twitter (@CattFoundation).