Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Fourteen receive Gregory Spring Perseverance Scholarship

Fri, Jun 24th 2022 01:15 pm

Fourteen recent area graduates of Cattaraugus County high schools recently received awards from the Gregory D. Spring Perseverance Scholarship Fund, an annual scholarship managed by the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation.

Five recent Portville Central School graduates received the Gregory D. Spring Perseverance Scholarship this year, including Kendall Artlip, Jared George, Jordyn Sickels, Mallory Welty and Mia Welty.

From Franklinville Central School, recipients included Emily Bigler, Cayden Hatch and Riley Moffat. Chance LaCroix and Jenna Louser, both of Allegany-Limestone Central School received awards.

Ellison Ash-West, Ruth Scordo and Jayde Smith of Olean High School received the scholarship. Kyleigh Dimpfl of Ellicottville Central School also received a scholarship award.

Established in memory of Gregory Spring of Allegany by his family, this scholarship is available to graduating seniors of Olean High School, Allegany-Limestone, Portville, Ten Broeck Academy/Franklinville Central School, Ellicottville Central School and Hinsdale Central schools pursuing a degree or certification, preferably, in a trade or technical program.

Artlip plans to begin her studies in radiology and sonography at Alfred State College. George will also attend Alfred State where he will study welding. Sickels will study medical technology at Edinboro University. Mallory Welty and Mia Welty will both attend Elmira College to study business administration.

Bigler will attend Jamestown Community College (Jamestown Campus) to study nursing. Hatch will study mechanical engineering technology at Penn State Behrend. Moffat will study music education at Houghton College.

LaCroix plans to study business administration at Fredonia State University. Louser will study criminal justice at the University of Pittsburgh at Bradford.

Ash-West will attend the Rochester Institute of Technology to study mechanical engineering technology. Scordo will study business administration at Ohio University. Smith plans to attend accounting at Jamestown Community College.

Dimpfl will study nursing at Jamestown Community College.

This year’s Gregory D. Spring Perseverance Scholarship awards total $7,500.

Including this year’s awards, the Spring scholarship fund has made possible over $42,000 in scholarship awards and award plagues given to players exemplifying sportsmanship at the annual Allegany-Limestone Central School Gator Cup soccer tournament.

Donations can be made to the Gregory D. Spring Perseverance Scholarship and Awards Fund at CRCF, 301 North Union St., Suite 203 or online at cattfoundation.org.

The Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation is the area’s supportive, responsive and trusted community foundation. Established in 1994, CRCF is growing good by connecting donors to the causes they care about most in the region. Grants from the foundation support many areas, including education, scholarships, health care, the arts, community development, human service, and youth development. To learn more, call (716) 301-CRCF (2723), email [email protected], or visit online at www.cattfoundation.org. CRCF is also on Facebook (facebook.com/cattfoundation) and Twitter (@CattFoundation).