Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Olean, Portville grads receive CRCF scholarships

Mon, Jul 19th 2021 09:00 am

Recent graduates of Olean High and Portville Central schools received awards this year from funds, managed by the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation, established in memory or honor of past educators and members of law enforcement.

Hannah DeArmitt, of Olean High School, and Portville Central School’s Lucas Smith each received the Deputy Wayne Krieger and Carol Krieger Memorial Scholarship for $1,200.

This scholarship is available to a Cattaraugus-Allegany BOCES criminal justice student from any of the three BOCES locations, pursuing a degree in law enforcement. The fund was established in memory of sheriff’s deputy Wayne Krieger by his family. The name of the scholarship was changed in 2019 to also honor Mr. Krieger's wife, Carol Krieger, who passed away in January of that year.

DeArmitt will study law enforcement in environmental conservation at Finger Lakes Community College. Smith will attend St. Bonaventure University to study criminology.

Portville Central School’s Kaleb Shaw received the Alyn J. Heim Music Scholarship for $1,250.

The Heim scholarship is for a graduating Cattaraugus County student majoring in music. Preference is given to a student recommended by the Cattaraugus County Music Teachers Association. The recipient must demonstrate academic success as well. Paul DeRitter, Mr. Heim’s former student at Manchester Regional High School in Haledon, NJ, and a musician and music educator himself, established the scholarship to honor his former teacher. Mr. DeRitter taught elementary general music and instrumental music for 33 years in Franklinville.

Monica Kintner, also of Portville Central School, received the Signe H. Johnson Scholarship for $1,100 this year.

The scholarship, established by the trust of Signe H. Johnson, is for a Portville Central School senior with preference for a student pursuing a degree in teaching or who has strong educational/career goals. Ms. Johnson taught for many years at Portville Central School and Olean High School.

Kintner will study secondary education at SUNY Geneseo.

Keon Cruz and Grace Ventura, both recent graduates of Olean High School, received the Signe, Svenborg, Agnes and Selma Johnson Scholarship for $1,200.

Also established through the trust of Signe H. Johnson, this scholarship is given to Olean High School seniors with preference given to students who have strong educational/career goals or who plan to pursue a degree in teaching. The scholarship is named for Johnson and her sisters, Svenborg, Agnes and Selma, all of whom were Olean High School teachers.

Cruz will attend Jamestown Community College to study math. Ventura will study musical theatre and English at Niagara University.

Donations can be made to any of these funds at CRCF, 301 North Union St., Suite 203 in Olean, or online at cattfoundation.org

Established in 1994, the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation is growing good by connecting donors to the causes they care about most in the region. Grants from the foundation support many areas, including education, scholarships, health care, the arts, community development, human service, and youth development. To learn more, call (716) 301-CRCF (2723), email [email protected], or visit online at www.cattfoundation.org. CRCF is also on Facebook (facebook.com/cattfoundation) and Twitter (@CattFoundation).