Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Six Portville graduates receive Wormer, McHone, CRCF scholarships

Thu, Aug 13th 2020 02:25 pm

Six recent Portville Central School graduates received awards from scholarship funds managed by the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation.

Renee Cook and Madison Schoonover each received the Dr. Donald A. Wormer Family Scholarship for $1,500.

The endowed scholarship, established in memory of Dr. Wormer by his late wife, Elinor Wormer, is awarded to graduating seniors of Portville Central School attending a two- or four-year institution to pursue a degree in a health care-related field. Students are also eligible to re-apply and recent graduates may also apply for this scholarship.

Cook and Schoonover both plan to attend Jamestown Community College to study nursing.

Jillian Hlasnick received the Signe H. Johnson Scholarship, for $1,000 this year.

The scholarship, established by the trust of Signe H. Johnson, is for a Portville Central School senior with preference for a student pursuing a degree in teaching or who has strong educational/career goals. Ms. Johnson taught for many years at Portville Central School and Olean High School.

Hlasnick will attend SUNY Cortland to study business.

Julian Morales and Elena Wilson each received the Bob and Barbara McCord and Jack Karl Scholarship for $1,000.

The McCord and Karl Scholarship, established through the Bob and Barbara McCord Private Foundation is for veterans and dependents of veterans graduated or graduating from Otto-Eldred High School or a Cattaraugus County high school. The scholarship is named for Mr. McCord, who served in the U.S. air force for 27 years, and his nephew Jack Karl.


Morales will study sports medicine and criminology at St. Bonaventure University. Wilson will attend Houghton College to study Biology on a pre-vet track.


Roland Thompson received both the Arnold McHone Sr. Manufacturing Scholarship for $1,500 and the Eva M. Taggerty Memorial Scholarship for $500.


Established by Yvonne McHone in memory of her husband and founder of McHone Industries, Arnold McHone, the Arnold McHone Sr. Manufacturing Scholarship is for graduating seniors or graduates from any high school in Cattaraugus County pursuing a technical education at any post-secondary 1- or 2-year institution in any field related to manufacturing.


Established in memory of Eva Taggerty by her daughter, Beth Taggerty, the Eva M. Taggerty Memorial Scholarship provides an annual scholarship for graduating seniors of Portville Central School who plan to seek a two- or four-year degree in a construction industry-related career/technical field. Preference is given to female students, students who have attended BOCES or students who are planning to attend Alfred State College.

Thompson will study Heavy Equipment Operations at Alfred State College.

In total, Portville Central School graduates received $16,400 in CRCF scholarship awards this year.

Donations can be made to any of these funds at CRCF, 301 North Union St., Suite 203, Olean, NY 14760 or online at cattfoundation.org

Established in 1994, the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation is growing good by connecting donors to the causes they care about most in the region. Grants from the foundation support many areas, including education, scholarships, health care, the arts, community development, human service, and youth development. To learn more, call (716) 301-CRCF (2723), email [email protected], or visit online at www.cattfoundation.org. CRCF is also on Facebook (facebook.com/cattfoundation) and Twitter (@CattFoundation).