Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Four area graduates receive Burt Scholarship

Mon, Aug 3rd 2020 09:00 am

Four area graduates recently received this year’s awards from the Burt Scholarship Fund, an annual scholarship managed by the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation.

Cait Butler, of Olean High School, Justin Gibbons, of Portville Central School, Manual McClary, of Allegany-Limestone Central School, and Dakota Yehl, of Hinsdale Central School, all received the award of $1,200 each this year.

Established by the Burt Committee of the First Presbyterian Church of Olean in memory of Dr. Rudy Burt, the scholarship is given each year to one student each from Olean High School and Portville, Allegany-Limestone and Hinsdale Central Schools.

Butler plans to double major in arts management and entrepreneurship, acting and directing at Baldwin Wallace University. Gibbons will study computer science at St. Bonaventure University.

McClary will study chemical engineering at the Rochester Institute of Technology. Yehl will attend Alfred State College to study heating, ventilation, air conditioning (HVAC).

Since 2004 the fund has made possible over $63,000 in scholarships for area students.

Donations can be made to the Burt Scholarship Fund at the CRCF, 301 North Union Street, Suite 203, or online at cattfoundation.org.

Established in 1994, the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation is growing good by connecting donors to the causes they care about most in the region. Grants from the foundation support many areas, including education, scholarships, health care, the arts, community development, human service, and youth development. To learn more, call (716) 301-CRCF (2723), email [email protected], or visit online at www.cattfoundation.org. CRCF is also on Facebook (facebook.com/cattfoundation) and Twitter (@CattFoundation).