Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Four area graduates receive Jonathan Teuscher Scholarship

Mon, Jul 13th 2020 02:10 pm

Four recent area graduates received the Jonathan Teuscher Scholarship, a four-year scholarship managed by the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation, together receiving $10,000, over the four years of the award.

Raina Barboza, Olivia Fitzgerald, Elizabeth Przybyla and Chase Wenke all received the Jonathan Teuscher Scholarship.

The Jonathan Teuscher Scholarship, established by Steve and Donna Teuscher in memory of their son, Jonathan, is given to students from Olean, Hinsdale, Portville, Allegany-Limestone and Archbishop Walsh, who have faced challenges while maintaining a positive attitude. The scholarship of $625 is renewable each year of continued education up to four years, for a total of $2,500.

Barboza, of Olean High School, will study mechanical engineering at Alfred University. Fitzgerald, of Allegany-Limestone Central School, will attend the University of Pittsburgh at Bradford to study radiological science.

Przybyla, of Hinsdale Central School, will study business administration at Keiser Flagship Campus in West Palm Beach. Wenke will attend Jamestown Community College to study early childhood education.

Over the years the Jonathan Teuscher Scholarship has made possible over $130,000 in scholarships for deserving students.

Donations can be made to the Jonathan Teuscher Scholarship fund at the CRCF, 301 North Union Street, Suite 203, or online at cattfoundation.org.

Established in 1994, the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation is growing good by connecting donors to the causes they care about most in the region. Grants from the foundation support many areas, including education, scholarships, health care, the arts, community development, human service, and youth development. To learn more, call (716) 301-CRCF (2723), email [email protected], or visit online at www.cattfoundation.org. CRCF is also on Facebook (facebook.com/cattfoundation) and Twitter (@CattFoundation).