Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Six OHS students receive memorial CRCF scholarships

Wed, Jun 24th 2020 09:00 am

Six graduating Olean High School seniors recently received scholarship awards established in memory of local residents and managed by the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation.

Daniel Klein and Samantha Thomas received the Tyler Bihler Memorial Scholarship.

The Tyler Bihler Memorial Scholarship, $1,000, is given to one male and one female Olean High School student who have maintained a grade percentage over 80 and demonstrated good character and citizenship attending a two- or four-year college. Tyler Bihler’s family established the scholarship in Tyler’s memory.

Klein will study mechanical engineering at the University at Buffalo. Thomas will attend Cleveland State University to study nursing.

Marina Miketish received the Jack & Muriel Fogarty Memorial Scholarship.

Established as part of the Olean City School District Scholarship Fund and the DJH Foundation, the Fogarty scholarship is a $2,000 award made in an annual payment of $500 for a senior graduating from Olean High School with a GPA of 80 or above, accepted to a four-year college. The student must demonstrate the ability to balance academics with extracurricular activities and work.

Miketish will attend SUNY Alfred State to study mechanical engineering.

Mackenzie Windus received the Anthony and Gayle Iacovino Legacy Scholarship for $1,000.

This scholarship was originally established in 2015 in memory of Anthony “Tony” Iacovino, a former long-time Olean High School educator and coach, by his sons. In 2018, Mr. Iacovino’s wife, Gayle, an Olean native and graduate of Olean High School, passed away, and the fund was renamed to honor the couple’s shared dedication to supporting students in their educational goals, with a preference for a student who excels in the classroom and also is active in extracurricular activities and community service

Windus will attend Mount Holyoke College to study pre-med.

Cole Anastasia received the Michele Krahe Peace Olean High School Scholarship for $500.

Established in Ms. Krahe Peace’s memory by her parents, David and Irene Krahe of Olean, this scholarship is given to an Olean High senior with preference for a student pursuing an accounting or business degree.

Anastasia plans to study business administration at St. Bonaventure University.

Chloeann Halladay received the JoAnn Wehmeyer English Scholarship for $1,500.

The JoAnn Wehmeyer scholarship, established by a group of Olean High alumni in memory of Mrs. Wehmeyer who taught English at Olean High School for 42 years, is an award for a graduating senior recommended by the Olean English faculty and who has excellent writing skills and the ability to make a difference.

Halladay plans to study forensic psychology at the University of Central Florida.

Donations can be made to any of these funds at CRCF, 301 North Union St., Suite 203 in Olean, or online at cattfoundation.org

Established in 1994, the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation is growing good by connecting donors to the causes they care about most in the region. Grants from the foundation support many areas, including education, scholarships, health care, the arts, community development, human service, and youth development. To learn more, call (716) 301-CRCF (2723), email [email protected], or visit online at www.cattfoundation.org. CRCF is also on Facebook (facebook.com/cattfoundation) and Twitter (@CattFoundation).